BOC on VHF Marine Band Radios?

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by DWB, May 31, 2007.

1. DWB

DWB Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hey folks,

Bottom Line Up Front (BLUF): Do any other BOC in the Missouri area carry a VHF marine band radio when they are out on the rivers or lakes? If so what channels do you monitor? If one does not already exist should we designate one of the working channels on the marine band for BOC members to monitor when out on the water? It seems that if we did it might extend this virtual network of friendship and help to the water, not to mention the benefit in terms of safety. Just a thought, I'd like to hear all of your thoughts and open this up for discussion. Perhaps something like this already exists...

I personally like to carry a marine band VHF radio on my boat (yes I'm a licensed operator) to hear the latest WX reports and the commercial river traffic. I guess it is probably a carry over from my days in the merchant marine but the soft crackle of the radio is comforting to me.

DWB

2. cubedweller

cubedweller New Member

State:
    MO
    I think this is a great idea. I don't yet own a VHF radio, but will be purchasing one soon (mainly for weather). Since I don't know much about the subject myself, I am keen to see what other people have to say about it while I do research on the side.

3. DWB

DWB Member

State:
    Missouri
    Obviously VHF marine band channel 16 is the recognized channel for distress, safety and calling; however, it tends to be a very busy and public channel--especially in areas with a lot of commercial activity. Therefore, private boaters, such as us, tend to use VHF channel 09 to hail another vessel on before switching to a working channel. VHF marine band channels designated as working channels for non-commercial entities are 68,69,71,72 and 78A. So upon hailing another vessel on 09 you would direct them to switch to the working channel of your choice from the list above.