boating age?

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by kc river kid, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    well i was wanting to know how old do you need to drive a boat? i do it all the time with my friend and he is 17 and im 16 but then a guy told me i cant do that so wanting to now? if you need to be 18 like the guy sad?????????:confused2:
     
  2. arkrivercatman

    arkrivercatman New Member

    Messages:
    4,472
    State:
    KS
    I think you can drive the boat as long as there is someone over 18 present and you have a drivers license but I am not 100% sure.
     

  3. PHLIPS4BIGKATS

    PHLIPS4BIGKATS New Member

    Messages:
    2,679
    State:
    Alma Kansas
    I think that if you were born after 1987 you are required to take a boat safey course. Even if you are with someone who can operate a boat or water craft they along with yourself can be fined. Look through the KDWP fishing 2008 mag and it tells you everything that is required.:0a26:

    Later,
    Chris
     
  4. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    yap i will look at that thx for the help :big_smile:
     
  5. arkrivercatman

    arkrivercatman New Member

    Messages:
    4,472
    State:
    KS
    I remember reading that. Thanks for clearing it up Chris. Sorry for gettin your hopes up.:wink:
     
  6. PHLIPS4BIGKATS

    PHLIPS4BIGKATS New Member

    Messages:
    2,679
    State:
    Alma Kansas
    Just tryin to save an @$$ chewin while you are trying to enjoy what like doin.:wink:
     
  7. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    ya dont need that lol
     
  8. Grimpuppy

    Grimpuppy New Member

    Messages:
    3,556
    State:
    Concordia, KS
    Reference 32-1139
    A person under 12 years of age cannot operate a motorboat, including PWCs,
    unless accompanied and under the direct supervision of a parent or other person
    over 17 years of age. All persons must comply with the boater education laws.
    Any person born on or after Jan. 1, 1989 must complete an approved boater safety education
    course in order to operate a motorboat, PWC, or sailboat on public waters in Kansas.
    This requirement does not apply to a person operating a motorboat, PWC, or sailboat
    accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a person over 17 years of age who
    either: possesses a certificate of completion of an approved boater safety education
    course, or is legally exempt from the requirement. This requirement does not apply to
    anyone 21 years of age or older, regardless of their date of birth.


    So anyone between 12 and 20 can operate a boat by themselves as long as they have the safety certificate. Once your 21, you don't need the certificate.
     
  9. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    thx that explains a lot.
     
  10. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    well time to get dad out on the water fishing with me lol:big_smile:
     
  11. Grimpuppy

    Grimpuppy New Member

    Messages:
    3,556
    State:
    Concordia, KS
    You can do the class and get the safety certificate online.
     
  12. n2fishn

    n2fishn New Member

    Messages:
    7,333
    State:
    Topeka,Kan
    I wonder if they have a class on operating trolling motors:smile2::smile2::smile2::smile2:.

    Sorry Jay, i just could not help myself ....
     
  13. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    ware can i do the class what is the web page?
     
  14. Grimpuppy

    Grimpuppy New Member

    Messages:
    3,556
    State:
    Concordia, KS
  15. Backlashed

    Backlashed New Member

    Messages:
    3,270
    State:
    Derby, Kansas
    Its a good thing even for us old guys that aint required to have it, cuz a lot of insurance companies will give you a discount on your boat premiums just for having a safety certificate.
     
  16. kc river kid

    kc river kid New Member

    Messages:
    204
    State:
    Kansas City
    thx jay for the help.