Boat question

Discussion in 'Boating' started by tigdewalt, Jun 21, 2008.

1. tigdewalt

tigdewalt New Member

State:
    ky
    I am getting ready to buy a boat and have a question. first I will be fishing mainly ky river and creeks off it. should I get a v-bottom or flat bottom or does it matter my though is flat bottom would do better if I hit a log
    (maybe not), but I recently found this link and have got the fever bad. The kids are raised so I want to chase some cat. I've never fished for flats or blues but thanks to all of you here I'm sure I'm an expert at hooking them. LOL any opinion on this subject is much appreciated.

2. whiteriverbigcats

whiteriverbigcats New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Depending on the size of the river and creeks you are going to fish its a hard question... If its a big desent river I would go with a V-Bottom but I have a small river where I live and it is really shallow in some places so I would rather have a flat bottom due to that.. I could run in shallower water if needed.. I would go to a local bait store and ask some of the locals whats best to run on your rivers

3. Foam Steak

Foam Steak New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I have been on the Kentucky River a few times. Bigger is better for standing up and moving around and having plenty of room to stretch out. I have a 16ft Polar Kraft semi-v duck boat that really works great for me. I would say it is a perfect size boat for the Kentucky river. You could easily navigate the river and still be able to move a little ways up some of the small feeder creeks. At 16 ft long it is still light and easy to trailer and launch. Of course you could easily go alot bigger on the Kentucky, and you could also go smaller.

I would not want to hit a log with a flat bottom or a v bottom. Either way would suck. I usually take things really slow until I learn an area.