Boat Lighting Info?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by takirb, Apr 13, 2009.

1. takirb

takirb New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Hi, i'm new to the forum and boat fishing at night as well. I've recently purchased a used pontoon and already have a camping/fishing trip planned with the guys next month. I'm really looking forward to fishing at night off the boat, but i don't know anything about boat lighting (1st time boat owner). Will the navigation lights drain the battery much if left on during the night or do i turn them off? I believe i'm supposed to have the rear light on, but last time i did this years ago it attracted too many 'squitos.

What's the best solution for me to have to keep at least "some" lighting inside/on the boat at night that won't leave me stranded with a dead battery when it's time to start the motor again? Sorry for the newb question, i'm just new to boating at night and want to be prepared.

Thanks!

2. SkiMax

SkiMax New Member

State:
    Rising Sun, IN
    Welcome to the BOC! You will find lots of info on here about just about any topic!

The anchor light on the back of the boat has to stay on, sorry about the mosquitos. Just gonna have to use some repellant.

As far as fishing lights go, get some LED lights. The draw very little power so you should be good for a whole night of fishing. Also, if you get red they will not attract bugs and will help you keep your night vision.

Also, I dont know of too many serious catfisherman that only run on batter in their boat. You will use lights, along with other things, that use power and it's always better to have 2 batteries. You can use one and have one as a 'backup' or run the two batteries in a series.

3. BIG_D

BIG_D New Member

State:
    Batchtown IL.