Boat Control/Anchoring

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by alands94, Jun 8, 2007.

1. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    BOC brothers and sisters: I have a multifacted question about boat control and anchoring. First, I have very little experience with boat fishing - I am alifelong bank fisherman. The few times I have been out in a boat, it has been in a 14-16' flat bottom jonboat. For whatever reason, we have ALWAYA had problems anchoring. It is extremely hard to detect bites when the boat swings back and forth and all around when the wind blows. We have tried using one anchoring, letting out various lengths of rope, anchoring straight down, using 2 anchors (one off the front and one off the back of the boat, etc.). The boats come with 15-40# weights, usually concrete filled 1/2 bleach bottles or similar material. Are we not anchoring correctly, not using enough weight, or is it the boat? I already checked the BOC library and found a little info., but I really need something more specific. Also - I am seriously looking at buying a boat for smaller rivers/lakes. Would a pontoon boat be a good choice (ie. would it allow better anchoring control?). Any and all suggestions appreciated. THANK YOU!!!

2. anchorpuller

anchorpuller New Member

State:
    North Caro
    I am new here, and I am a female. So, with that in mind, I'll share what I've found works.

I enjoy fishing from a 16' flat bottom jon although what I do has worked with quite a few boats I've had the pleasure of fishing from.

I use two fluke style anchors. With the jon, I only need the smaller ones.