Boat Advice

Discussion in 'LOCAL ILLINOIS TALK' started by alands94, Jun 9, 2007.

1. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    Alright guys - I finally have received my wife's permission to go boat hunting :big_smile: My question is this: what type of boat would you recommend? Keep in mind that I have never owned a boat and I have very little experience fishing out of a boat. I do not need or want anything high performance, probably a 25 horsepower motor and a 9.9 for smaller lakes. I definitely want an aluminum boat, but I'm not sure if a flatbottom, semi - V, or V bottom would be most appropriate (my wife also mentioned a preference for a pontoon). I realize that there are pros and cons of each, but I want to buy something that will perform well in almost all conditions.

I will be fishing the Kaskaskia River, Baldwin, Carlyle (north of the trestle), and Washington County Lake in Nashville. I would also make trips to local strip pits, Rend, Crab Orchard, and Reelfoot Lake in Tennessee. My budget tops out at $5,000. Any and all suggestions appreciated.
    Thanks!

2. Skunk Master

Skunk Master New Member

State:
    Colinsville, Il
    Aaron.. In that price range, you'll have to look at good used boats.. And that will leave out pontoons.. Good used Pontoons start around 7,000.. It depends on what your comfortable with.. V bottoms are more stable, but not for skinny water.. Everybodies comfort zone is different, I prefer V bottoms, but for where you'll be fishing a good 1654 Jon would work.. A johnboat is also easier for 1 person to load and unload.. Just my opinion..

3. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    Thanks, Harold. I was leaning towards a used jonboat anyway. I'll leave the pontoon for several years down the road. I look forward to seeing your boat in a couple of weeks at Catstock.

4. SubnetZero

SubnetZero New Member

State:
    Sherman IL