Blues and Fishing Pressure?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by gweber, Dec 5, 2005.

1. gweber

gweber New Member

I've been fishing for blues on the James in VA for about three years now, still trying to learn as much as I can about how these fish respond to weather/conditions. I read a recent post in the VA rivers section about how one of our members feels fishing has declined in certain sections of the river due to fishing pressure. Keep in mind that most people are practicing catch and release for these fish on the James because of the pollutents in the river (at least I think they are?). Also, I know that the blue fishery on the James has become more popular over the past five years, but it's not like the pressure we've seen for other species like Bass, etc. on lakes (at least I think it's not?).

Can catch and release fishing pressure make the fishing in a hole or a section of a river decline?

2. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Gweber, I personally wouldn't think that catch and release fishing wouldn't effect the population of any species in a noticable way. Although, who is to say that everyone out there fishing is strictly catch and release. I personally catch and release more often than not, but sometimes I keep a few of the smaller fish to eat. I do release any fish over 10lb. What happens is you get a bunch of fishermen that are new to cats and they catch a 20 plus pounder or so and they get so excited about it's size that they throw it in the vehicle and drive around showing all their friends. I've seen this happen with alot of big fish in my area. A few of the people in your area may actually be eating what they catch. Vern

3. Catcaller

Catcaller New Member

State:
    SoutheastKansas