Blue cats and warm water discharges

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by tbull, Dec 13, 2007.

1. tbull

tbull New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    I have been fishing for Blues for a couple years, you put me on the river and chances are I can find some blues fairly easy, my question is has anyone had alot of luck catching them around warm water discharges? I have caught a few, and seen some nice ones caught around me, but its usually just alot of channels. Anyone have a take on this? Is there different presentations perhaps that work better? I usually fish off of a concrete wall right above one of the discharges, given the wall is only a couple feet high, and its very turbulent, so I usually cast out away from the discharge, and normally just a no roll above a swivel, and a 12 to 18 inch leader below with a 8' gama circles. I have used slip floats to drift around the water and have nailed some nice stripers, channels, and small flatheads, but no blues that way. Thanks all

2. Dadoftwo

Dadoftwo New Member

State:
    Oklahoma City
    Most of what I have caught in these areas are primarily channels.

3. gearhead

gearhead New Member

State:
    China Grove, NC
    We catch Blues out in the main lake just out of the hot discharge channel . In the deeper holes around 30' to 40' . The water surface temp is usally in the mid 70 deg in the dead of winter there. Very slight current and we fish down current with the warmer water never above the warm water .You can watch the temp go way down above the hot water discharge. I dont think the blues really go to far up in the hot hole canal .Maybe a little to warm to quick for them I dont know .Hope this helps.:wink:

4. Skipjack

Skipjack New Member

State:
    LaGrange, Ky.