blue catfish rigs

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by lendog, Oct 28, 2009.

1. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA
    i've only fished for flatheads and use a carolina rig with sliding sinker, i keep my baits about a foot from my weight. would this same setup be used for bluecats?

2. Mr. Foster

Mr. Foster New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Ive caught about 50/50 Carolina Rig and Kat Bobber. Im trying to learn more about Blues also.

3. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    every rig has a purpose mostly depending on the places you are fishing for them. a carolina rig should be used in places that you wont get hung up as much where as a three way rig or a variation of it that in corporates the carolina rig, should be used in snaggy bottoms. the big thing about blues is where they are located. i am still learning about them myself, however i do know they like deeper water with more current where as a flat will come up and cruise around to hunt down its prey in the shallows...

4. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Lenny I mainly go after blues and all I use is a Carolina rig right on the bottomm, and I use it everywhere in my standing timber lake. My leaders are 14"- 40# mono leaders, this is what I've been using all year for both blues and flats.

I would stick with it, especially since your use to using it already.

G'luck chasing the blues.....boy are they fun !!!

5. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    The carolina rig is fine. I use it 95% of the time. I use #65 Power Pro as the main line and around 12" 40# mono leader. If I fish right at the dam I will use a 3 way only because you will get snagged everytime and you need to tie the weight on with a light mono to break off when reeling in. Good luck.

6. santeefishhunter

santeefishhunter New Member

State:
    north caro
    Here is the rig I use for drifting,but I have used it anchored and had good results!