Blue catfish in the scioto river

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by catcrazed, Dec 25, 2008.

1. catcrazed

catcrazed New Member

State:
    ohio
    Ive got a friend that swears that the scioto river is a great Bluecat river. Is he full of it or is it. Anyone caught any large blues out of there???

2. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I dunno the Scioto at all. Hell, they catch flats out of there all day long from what I have read. But , I know that alot of guys have shown pic.s to thought to be blues on the Muskingum.... From what I have seen, their blue cats are male channel cats! Now the lower Scioto could very well inhabit them. rollo

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I think your friend is wrong, I have been fishing the scioto exclusivly for 25 years and never caught a blue cat.

I have seen one caught however, yes 1 in 25 years.

4. cats gone wild

cats gone wild Member

State:
    canal winchester, ohio
    It could be possible for blues to come up into the Scioto where it meets the Ohio in Portsmouth. I don't really know because I have never been there but if it was deep enough they could be in the mouth. We have two large reservoirs on the Scioto here in the Columbus area that would be good for blues. I wish the Div. of Wildlife would stock them there. Catfishing is'nt taken too seriously up here so I doubt there are any plans in the near to distant future.

5. catcrazed

catcrazed New Member

State:
    ohio
    that just so happens to be where he is talking about. He was saying that in the Portsmouth area the blues go up in the scioto river and is a great place to fish in the spring.

6. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have heard many times Portsmouth and down for the blues. It wouldn't be hard to believe. Wish they would come more east and then north! LOL...rollo

7. cats gone wild

cats gone wild Member

State:
    canal winchester, ohio