Blue catfish in Clinton Reservoir.......

Discussion in 'KANSAS LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by KAW RIVER KILLER, Nov 5, 2009.

1. KAW RIVER KILLER

KAW RIVER KILLER New Member

State:
    Lenexa, KS
    I saw on the KDWP website that blues have been stocked in Clinton, but I don't know for how long. Does anyone have any idea how big they are yet?

2. rwg

rwg New Member

State:
    WICHITA, KANSAS
    The webb site says they put in 21035 fish on 10/16/08. I'm no expert on blue cats but it takes about 5/6 years to grow to aprox 5/6 lbs, they they change over to eating other fish and get big quick

3. KAW RIVER KILLER

KAW RIVER KILLER New Member

State:
    Lenexa, KS
    Ya, thats what I saw, but I wasn't sure if they had been stocked in prior years.

4. rwg

rwg New Member

State:
    WICHITA, KANSAS
    According to theie webb site thats the only stocking, they put 28536 in ElDorado on 10/16 2008. I have caught several of them, you have to watch close when your channel fishing, the little ones are hard to spot, look for the sq anal fin. They are mostly about 12/14 inches and fat little pigs, I did get one this spring that was 15/16 inches maybe 1 1/2 lbs
    they will bite secrect 7 just loke a channel, they have to be 35" before you can keep them, thats going to a 20lb fish or maybe bigger, I would not keep one that size .

Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
  5. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    It's not impossible that a few blues were caught up the Wakarusa when the dam was closed off, but for practical purposes it's just a bunch of dinks from the last couple of years.

6. Dsage

Dsage Active Member

State:
    Topeka, Kansas
    Or people catching them on the Kaw and then dumping them at Clinton.

7. warcraft1975

warcraft1975 New Member

maybe:smile2:

8. Gamblen

Gamblen New Member

State:
    Kansas City, KS