Big Stones River Cats???

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by Copeland, Apr 25, 2008.

1. Copeland

Copeland New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Hey Guys, i'm new to the BOC, and this is my first post. I was just wondering if any of you local guys near me have ever had any luck with big cats on the stones river? i just bought my first boat and have been bass fishing in it, but i am dying to take it out for some cats. i live in murfreesboro, and the stones is just a few minutes away. Percy Priest and Old Hickory aren't far either.

2. rsimms

rsimms New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Many years ago I know of a fellow who grabbled (noodled) BIG flathead cats in the Stones River, so I know they're there. I've never fished it specifically however. But, in general, to catch blue cats find deeper holes in the river channel... any place in main channel with some current flow that has some sort of hole or hump that breaks flow. Blue cats are like trout... they like to hang out in ambush points waiting on dead bait to drift by. You can anchor or drift... personal preference.

Flatheads prefer live bait... anchor in bends of the river with undercut banks and structure. Put a live bluegill on the bottom in such areas and if there's a flathead around, he should eat it.

Good luck.

3. stumpjumper

stumpjumper New Member

State:
    Dallas, GA
    Excellent advice! Welcome to the BOC Drew.

4. Folion

Folion New Member

State:
    tennessee
    Hey man.