Big Blues on the Missouri & Mississippi Rivers

Discussion in 'IOWA RIVERS TALK' started by chimp, Feb 22, 2008.

1. chimp

chimp New Member

State:
    iowa
    I have been fishing central iowa for several years now and have yet to catch any really big cats. I was wondering if there was anyone who fished the Missouri or the Mississippi that was catching any big blues. If so would you be willing to give up your locations, because I would be like to make a road trip for some big fish.

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    Obviously some places are better than others, but I can assure you that you can catch big blues throughout the Mississippi river. Just look for the obvious deep holes that provide access to structure and food. Fish the down current side of any warm water discharges, especially if you arr going to fish before the water temp gets above 50 degrees. Find yourself some fresh skips and cut'em up. I think you will be impressed. As for specific locations you will be able to estimate good holes using some navigation maps that can be found at a nearby walmart or through the corps of engineers.

3. tmbragg67

tmbragg67 New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I've been told that blues are rare in the upper Mississippi (at least at L&D 12 - Bellevue, IA - and upstream). Does anybody have any knowledge of blue cats being caught up here? I don't know how far north they really get.

As an fyi, if you're willing to travel to Lake o' Ozarks, my buddy and I had great fun catching 20+ lb blues down there in February a couple of years back. Seemed to have the lake to our selves and decent numbers of fish from the deep holes on shad guts.

4. RAPTOR

RAPTOR New Member

State:
    IOWA
    Tom ,According to the Ia.DNR there are no Blues this far north !! I think but a not pmositive that they are not above Keokuk dam but cannot swear by this...Hope this helps...

5. wayne1967

wayne1967 New Member

State:
    Missouri