Big blue catfish tearin gold fish up!

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by Rollinunknown, Aug 16, 2009.

1. Rollinunknown

Rollinunknown New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Missouri
    A guy and his son came in the day before yeasterday and bought 2lbs of gold fish and they went out to the st charles area and ...... they came back in today while Jim was workin the store and they did major damage lol....

68,42, and a few others 18& below.... all blues!(ill post pics soon)

This is the 2d time they came in the first time we sent em out they came back with a 36lbs flat and all the pics to prove it...

Again im still a newb at catfishing compared to others on this forum and i try to share knowledge as i learn and i never thought goldfish was a kicker for big blues but i guess we learn something new everyday!

To all the local area it seams like the St Charles Area is boomin... Im going out later today takeing my unk out on the missouri.Ill post details later.

also the 68&42 were released and they get mad props for that one!

Last edited: Aug 16, 2009
  2. ultramindbrk

ultramindbrk New Member

State:
    Missouri
    The last couple of times I have fished the Festus area on the river,we have been catching flatheads on worms! I never would have figured that either..I guess fish will eat anything if they are hungry enough..

3. SmokinBarrel

SmokinBarrel New Member

State:
    St. Louis, MO
    That is great that they released the blue cats! I like hearing that, and don't often enough.

4. TheMadCatter

TheMadCatter New Member

State:
    missouri
    thats awesome! i had a 14 pound blue bite on a really small goldie just last week, the catfish seem to like the gold fish because they are a soft finned fish. if you have ever been stabbed by the fin on a perch you will know what im talking about. imagine that on the roof of your mouth now....ouch!

5. 89Ricky89

89Ricky89 New Member

State:
    Iowa