Big Blue Catfish In the James!

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Ron Flournoy, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Ron Flournoy

Ron Flournoy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    :) I have been fishing for a couple of years now in the James River, Va. for big cats. Let me tell you, they are in there. Dec 21, 05, four caught in four hours on rod and reel using fresh cut shad. 47, 49, 51 and 61 lbs. Two were on at the same time, what a mess to control from a boat. Three weeks later I caught a 70 plus blue. Weight scale won't register above that. O well something else to buy. Water discharge flows around the back of Dutch Gap power plant, temp in winter stays about 63 degrees back there. When current is flowing out the big ones swim into this area. It's a perfect combination to lure big cats into a feed. Local newpaper reports every week on catches that are reported. Must be 25 plus over 30 lbs. The James is quickly becoming famous for these large fish. There are so many it's hard to believe. Cold as can be but man it is fun! Still searching for my 100 lb.plus blue.

I'm patient, I'll get him.

Ron F.

2. Patmansc

Patmansc Well-Known Member

State:
    Greer, SC
    Name:
    Pat Chaney
    Ron, it seems like the biggest blues have frequentl and consistently been coming out of the James. It also seems like most of the guys that fish the James are pretty experienced hawg-hunters. I would definietly like to take a trip out that way some day and give it a try :0a23: Good luck in catchin' that 100-pounder!

3. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    Yeah the james river is definitely famous for those big blues now. I'm gonna have to fish there sometime soon. I got an invite from someone that fishes there to go this winter, I hope I get to go.:cool:

4. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC