BEWARE Ethanol Gas

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by bluecat69, Jul 8, 2009.

1. bluecat69

bluecat69 New Member

State:
    Tupelo, MS
    My engine would run fine at idle and WOT but after it warmed it up it would bog down and die when trying to get my boat on plane.
    I rebuilt the carbs, drained the gas and replaced with fresh gas, checked all my fuel lines, changed plugs, checked compression and replaced the VRO pump. I did all this over a couple of months and it still did the same thing. I took it to the boat repair shop to have them look at it.
    I was surprised to find out that with the Ethanol gas, that is pretty much standard at all gas stations now, was my problem.
    The ethanol gas and plastic carbs require an adjustment of the air/fuel mixture on the carbs. You may need a special tool to do the adjustment but once adjusted you should be back in business before you know it.
    I am by no means an expert on motor repair but thought I would share this to everyone in the BOC.

2. calogan

calogan New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Did you knowingly out ethonal in, or was this ethonal that was in the "regular" that isn't supposed to have any in it?

3. Little Mac

Little Mac Active Member

State:
    NW Arkansa
    Very good Worthwhile information to pass along. I wondered how it would effect outboards. so far I have not had a problem (crossing fingers) . reps to ya

4. Eddie Mullins

Eddie Mullins New Member

State:
    AR
    I hadn't heard that one, but had heard of people not using it anymore because of decreased milage in their vehicles. It must not burn as efficiently, and may be why it required the card adjustments? I have heard of potential for increased condensation problems in outboards if not ran frequently because of ethanol.

5. bluecat69

bluecat69 New Member

State:
    Tupelo, MS