Best size fish to fillet, the verdict is in!

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Cattoo, Aug 21, 2006.

1. Cattoo

Cattoo New Member

State:
    caneyville,ky.
    ok, after spending a couple hours cleaning 30 cats the other day i made some very interesting observations. a few months back i typed a post on the virtues of catch and release, keeping smaller fish releasing the larger ones blah, blah, etc. one of my points was that smaller fish were easier to clean than bigger ones. well of course i had several brothers try and tell me i had it all wrong. now i am not a newbie to cattin and have filleted my fair share of cats in my time but i admit, some self doubt did start to creep in so i thought i would put both theories to the test whilst i was cleaning all those cats. the results are in. if you said it is easier to clean larger fish than smaller ones you are either a) full of crap b) delusional c) a liar or d) all of the above. there is just no comparison. small fish are 10 easier to clean than big ones. ok i am done ranting.

2. metalfisher

metalfisher New Member

State:
    Arkansas
    Man I could have told you that. Who ever said small(1-3#) cats aren't eaier to clean than big ones, was sadly mistaken.

Robert

3. bud1110

bud1110 New Member

State:
    East Texas
    Yep,

Those smaller cats are much easier to fillet, or at least they are to me...

4. grizzly

grizzly New Member

State:
    Griffithville, Arkansas
    The bigger ones are harder to skin and filleting may take a little longer, but you get more meat for the time invested. I skinned and filleted a 30# fathead Sat and it took about twice as long as the 6#er I did. I have a bad back so I take my time pulling on the skin anyway. But I think the correct answer is; to each his own. grizzly

5. photocat

photocat New Member

State:
    HOCO, Maryland