best catfishin gear for the ohio.

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by Teamcat, Sep 10, 2008.

1. Teamcat

Teamcat New Member

State:
    kentucky
    hello all im new to this so bear wiht me:) im 29 years old from louisville.when i was a kid my dad kinda did most things for me and all i wanted to catch then was bluegill cause they was easy:) anyways my dads been gone since 1998 and i dont know much about the best gear,bait or even spots.

ive tried some pay lakes around louisville and some other lakes but not much luck. i live near the greenwood boat ramp and was thinking of trying the banks of the ohio soon. but im not sure where to start or what kinda gear to get aka tackle,line,rigs. any help would be appreciated and thanx again:)

2. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    Welcome to the BOC/SOC
    Sorry about the passing of your dad
    There is a lot of people on here to help with your questions better than I. You say you have tried some pay lakes?? What kind of gear have you got???

3. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    Welcome aboard! Lots of fine people around here!
    What kinda gear are you using now? I like Abu Garcia baitcasters, IMO, their hard to beat. I usually use 6500 c3's spooled with Big Game 30# mono. As far as rods it depends on where I'm fishing. Anywhere from a 7'MH to a 9'MH is what I use. As far as the rig I usually use a carolina rig with a 3-8oz no roll or bank sinker with a 12-18" mono leader. Just depending on the current. For hooks I match the hook size to my bait. Anywhere from a 2/0-10/0. Thats just what I usually use, other people will use different set ups that'll work just as well. Invest in a cast net and you can get all the shad you'll need. Bluegill are also one of my favorites to use.
    Hope this helps some, again, thats just what I use to fish the Mighty Ohio. You'll probably get several other good ideas and opinions.

4. lance

lance New Member

State: