Best catfish hooks

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by vinnie, Jul 22, 2007.

1. vinnie

vinnie New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I am still fairly new at catfishing. What is the best hooks to use and what size? What kind of line should I be using?
    Im curently using Stren HiVis Gold 12#test, and Eagle Claw 2/0 baitholder.
    Also, am I posting this question in the right part of the forum, or is there a better place to submit this question for more responses?

Thanks,
    Dayle

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Dayle the answer to your question depends on the equipment you are useing, Spinning or baitcasting. The type of bait you are useing. Live or cut bait. And the size of fish you are targeting. Give us some more info. Also, check out the BOC library. Lots of info in there. You can pm me if you like and I will try to be of help.:big_smile:

3. vinnie

vinnie New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I have a spinning reel, and I usualy dont catch anything over 3 lbs. I use nightcrawlers, and shrimp. But I want to know how to target big cats. I fish in a local pit, and know that there are big cats in there, but I think hardly nobody catches them, because they are targeting smaller cats as well.

4. Coyote1

Coyote1 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Dear Brother Dale;
    First of all, WELCOME ABOARD! :big_smile:
    Brother Craig is totally right in what he is saying about your equipment, technique, ect.
    Also, I know for a fact that Brother Crag will do his very best to help you out and get you started in the right direction! If by the remotest of chances he does not know the answers to your questions he certainly knows where to go to get the help that you need with the best answers you can get for your questions. He is a GOOD man and will make sure your "start" with the BOC will get off to a smooth and enjoyable beginning!:big_smile: