Best Boat Tatic below Dam?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by ronnycl, Jan 5, 2006.

1. ronnycl

ronnycl Member

State:
    NW/MS
    I am going below the dam this weekend in a boat and trying for cats using cutbait.(as I have read as the best choice of bait) My question is should I drift fish the current or should I anchor in some slack water away from the turbines and throw out several poles. I am new to this so any help would be great!

2. rushryder

rushryder New Member

State:
    Arkansas
    If the turbines are generating current, its hard to beat driftfishing. We always motor up as close to the dam that is allowed and get our lines in the water as quick as possible. My biggest fish have been caught right up close to the dam. If the turbines aren't putting out current, good luck. Someone will have to help you with that one. Good luck and tell us how it goes.

3. JMarrs328

JMarrs328 New Member

State:
    York/Harrisburg, PA
    Just remember to wear your lifevests. The waters below a dam can extremely dangerous! Watch out for big boils which can easily capsize a cat boat. You should always exercise extreme caution below and around dams. I have fun but be safe! And just remember,"It's better to be safe than sorry."

4. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    Drifting is generally best for blues and channels, but for flatheads, anchor and let your bait soak for a while.

5. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    Ronny,