Berkley Gorilla - What's the Story?

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by oahegw, Aug 16, 2009.

1. oahegw

oahegw Member

State:
    So. Dakota
    This spring I was digging thru my stuff and came across a roll of Berkley Gorilla braided line.
    My question are:
    1) Was this the first of Berkleys new super line?
    I see on their web site that it is still for sale.

2) Have any of you guys ever used it? If so, with what results.

I'm a power Pro fan myself, so guess the grandsons will make use of it.

What say you?

2. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    yes i have some on a reel right now.i will tell you this i got the 50# braid on it and its suppose to be the same diameter as 14# mono.Well there is no possible way, that stuff is thicker then 30# mono.Its strong and i find it to be abrasion resistant,it casts not bad.But to me its just to thick.Its pretty good stuff i guess but i like mono line alot so maybe im a little biased.

3. lookin_4_moby

lookin_4_moby New Member

State:
    Guthrie, OK
    like the previous guy said the stuff is THICK I had some 50 a while back and it was awefull. I only fit about 250 yards on a 300 yard reel spooled tight, it didn't cast well at all. you're on the right track with the power pro that's all I use right now except I just oreder some team catfish tug o war braid to see what it's like but for now it's pp all the way.

4. oahegw

oahegw Member

State:
    So. Dakota
    Thanks for the info guys. Looks like the grandsons will be using up my Gorilla 30 lb. line.

5. 89Ricky89

89Ricky89 New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I used it once and it tended to slip at the knot. I use 50# spiderwire and it is like silk, gorilla was like a cord.

6. LEROYDOZOIS

LEROYDOZOIS New Member

State:
    Arizona
    WELLL..... IF YOU LIKE TO MAKE HAIR RIGS FOR CARP FISHING LIKE I DO AND JUST SO HAPPEN TO (FIND) A SPOOL OF IT LIKE I DID THEN ITS WORTH THE PRICE :wink: (THAT SAYS IT ALL)