Berkley fishing rods

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by YUKON JACK, Feb 5, 2008.

1. YUKON JACK

YUKON JACK New Member

State:
    WASHINGTON
    ANYONE OUT THERE USING BERKELY RODS IN THE 8'6" RANGE IN A MEDIUM HEAVY ACTION. THE CHANNEL CATS IN MY AREA PROBABLY TOP OUT AT THE 10-15 LB RANGE AND THE GLOWSTICK I HAVE IS JUST TO STIFF SOMETIMES TO SEE THE BITE! ANY RECOMMENDATIONS?

2. flatheadfisher

flatheadfisher New Member

State:
    NC
    Berkley E-Cat #1.

Oh wait, they quit making those. What were they thinking?

3. MAX1955

MAX1955 New Member

State:
    KENTUCKY
    Jack you might try a 7' MH ugly stik, I've been using one for over 15 years to fish for channels. Its hard to beat for the money if your on a budget, $30. Its a good rod to see the bite. I use abu garcia 6000 on mine, I hope this helps you out.

4. Salty1

Salty1 New Member

State:
    Mt. Washington, Ky.
    I agree with the using the Ugly Cat !!!! I love the two that I own:big_smile:. The two that I have are 8 Ft. and I just love the sensitivity on the MH action.

5. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC
    If you like the Berkley rods and fish for channel cats I would go with a Berkley Big Game rod. They are great, you certainly won't have to worry about them being too stiff:smile2: I have two and I like them a lot. They are fun with the smaller fish and can still bring a 40-50lb fish to the boat. They're only $20 so they're really really hard to beat for the money.

6. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    The Berkley Big Game rod is softer than the Glow-Stik as Fatflattie already mentioned. I have both of these rods the Big Game runs for $20. They should y do you fine for channel cats. Not sure if I would use them for any heavy duty fishing but for channels it will do.

7. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil