bending straight shank hook eyes

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Quint, Aug 24, 2009.

1. Quint

Quint New Member

State:
    N.C.
    What is your opinions on bending straight shank hook eyes back for tieing snell knots?

2. Cliffcat

Cliffcat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm not an expert on metal and what happens to the integrity of it when bent, but for me that's not something I want to do. If anyone has to have a bent eye for a snelled hook, I think there are good hooks out there that will work. For me, I get better hook ups snelling a straight eyed hook. That method does put an inside curve to the line-hook connection (the hook and line are not in a straight line), but that's also what causes the better hook-up ratio. It may look a little funky, but I am more results orientated than "it has to look pretty". Of course, even if there is no eye on the hook at all (spade end hooks for example) you can still snell them. Some have even developed a unique snell knot just for that purpose. I have not tried this knot on any fish as yet, so I can't speak for how it works, but if anyone is interested a “you tube video” can be found at this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYmAgmoGQ8s

If you want to see the same knot with just still pictures, it is here.

http://www.dorkingas.co.uk/Knots/Spade%20End%20Knot/spade_end_knot.htm

I know, many of you don’t own spade end hooks, but the same knot will also work for big circles, kahles, and j-hooks. I know that all of you can get by without this information, but I’m a firm believer in gaining as much knowledge as possible. I don’t use this knot all the time, but when I do, I want to know how to do it.

Ralph

3. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    You always weaken the metal when you bend it but there is very little if any stress on the upturned eye of a snelled hook.