Beginner Help

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by keithbc, May 7, 2009.

1. keithbc

keithbc New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I'm very new to this and have done research on this site but I've gotten the idea that alot of the info I've seen concerns larger catfish. I'm looking to catch some smalling eating size fish and want to know several things.
    I'll be doing most of my fishing from shore in the river and in lakes.
    1. What's a good rod and reel? Should it be medium-heave or just medium for smaller fish? Also how long 6 or 7 feet?
    2. Hock sizes for the smaller eating size fish?
    3. What type of hook? Kayle, circles, etc?
    Thanks alot.

2. tat_n_trapper

tat_n_trapper New Member

State:
    pennsylvania
    when I am out for eaters I use a medium action rod ($7 at wal-mart) with a $10 reel from K-mart and cheap 10 pound test line. I use kahle 1/0 hooks and 1/2 oz slip sinker.

3. Rohaus

Rohaus Well-Known Member

State:
    Vilonia Ar
    The Zebco combos (33's, 733's) would be a good choice for eating size cats, but if you think you might try the bigger fish you want a good quality bait caster or spinning real, IMO.

4. cathog

cathog New Member

State:
    Lone Oak Texas
    1. Most of your regular bass tackle will suffice for eating size catfish. We even use ultralights to liven things up when catching eaters.
    2. I like to use a #4 treble hook for the eaters, you can catch bigger and smaller fish on this hook. Only drawback is unhooking fish.
    3. I like a treble, but j hooks, kahles, circles all work. I like the trebles because a lot of smaller cats like to tap,tap,tap before taking the bait and I think I get a higher hookup ratio with trebles on the smaller fish.

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois