Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well my family has expressed their desire to go fishing and camping over Memorial Day Weekend. So trying to be a good dad, I went ahead and reserved a few campsites for my family. The campsites are in the Prairie Creek area.

I was wondering does any one have any experience fishing in this area? Or do you have any advice? This is my first time on Beaver Lake, and I intend to take my small (14') boat out there as well to hit a few of the out of the way spots.

· Registered
2,240 Posts
I won't be mutch help, because I haven't fished Beaver scince the late 60"s, Its a clear and deep lake, used to have lots of trees, I'll bet they are gone now, I had better luck fishing at nite bacuse of the clear water

· Registered
4,408 Posts
Richard,
I have lived up here close to Beaver for 11 years, and have fished it the whole time.
I also fished it back in the 80's when in school at the university.
All I can say is don't mess with it for catfish. I have jugged it with only a few fish here and there.
Down in your area of Prairie Creek, it is getting clear. It is gin clear down by the dam.
Your 14' boat will be good though in that area. I don't know if the water will be way up after these rains, but from the marina towards the back of Prairie creek can be good fishing for about anything. You will probably be swamped by the jet ski'ers on Mem weekend, but most will be from the marina on out.
If you head up the creek (left from the ramp....away from the marina), there is a long creek that forks to the right. I don't remember the name, but it is long and would provide you lots of rock/brush to fish.
If you stay on the ramp side of the lake and go up, that is the end of Prairie creek.
I have caught a lot of bass up there......all the way to the back.
If you are wanting to catfish, you might set some jugs out or just fish it at night.
Be careful when the jet ski's and big boats are out.