Battery Recommendations

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by alands94, Jun 21, 2007.

1. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    I am in the process of wiring a 15' jonboat with a 1999 25 hp Mercury outboard. I am a complete novice to this, so I apologize in advance if I sound like the village idiot.

I was thinking of buying two 12 volt rechargeable batteries - one for the front of the boat and one for the back. In the rear I will have my outboard motor, a night time navigation light, and a trolling motor. In the front I will have a depthfinder, green/red night time navigation light, and another trolling motor. In the future I plan to add an electric anchormate which can be run from either battery.

What amperage batteries would you recommend? I know the little 12 volt, 8 amp batteries are cheaper, but they probably won't have enough juice for my accessories. Also - if there are any specific brands or types of batteries you like, please let me know. I was planning on checking out the new Cabelas in St. Louis Friday night and they have some rechargeable batteries that look good.

All recommendations are GREATLY appreciated. Thank you!!!!

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I would look for a group 24 starting battery for the back and to hook the gas motor on. I would get a group 27 or 31 for the front battery to run the front trolling motor and other accessories. If you are not going to be trolling alot, you might get by with one battery in the rear. A deep cycle/starting group 27 or 31. If you recharge a deep cycle at the end of each trip it will last longer and do a bigger job than you expect. If you need to PM me.There are several good brands. I like Decca and Exide. Stoaway is a good battery also.

3. hossdaniels

hossdaniels New Member

State:
    north carolina