Bassboat or pontoon?

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by kybunniebuster, May 14, 2006.

1. kybunniebuster

kybunniebuster New Member

State:
    winchester kentucky
    ok guys here is the question i have a 1986 bassmaster boat with a 86 mod. 80hp merc i have found what i think i have been wanting but i have never owned one or even been on one before a guy is wanting to trade me a 1987 24' safari pontoon boat with a 100hp merc for my 17' bassboat now i can fish two off of the bassboat easy but anymore people than that and it gets rough real quick and i have 3 kids and a wife that want to fish with me and a father that wants to go all the time pluss a friend that wants to fish from thursday night until saturday night also so i figured the pontoon would be better for me as far as room goes but would it be a pain to haul from place to place fishing or would it be something i should take someplace and leave it docked ? i have always wanted a pontoon but i dont know if i would be bettering myself any by trading for it or if i would be hurting myself any thoughts?

2. YeeHaw

YeeHaw New Member

State:
    Quincy Illinois
    If I had the money I would get a pontoon they look so comfrotable, with a lot of fishing room. Hope I get to ride on one someday.

3. catmancats

catmancats New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I would definatly go with the pontoon I fish from a bass boat now, but use to have a pontoon .... Hands down, the pontoon is better for catfishing alot more room , easier set up as far as lanterns , fishing rods, and you can move around with out rocking the boat in the middle of a good hit ....

As far as hauling , its not hard to get from home to lake or where ever you need to take... Really not much different than hauling any other boat. Loading and unloading is pretty much just like a bass boat (Drive Off & Drive Off)

My father and mysel are looking to trade our bass boat or a pontoon at this time......

Hope this info helps ya out

4. AwShucks