Bass Pro Shops® MegaCast® Metal Baitcast Reel

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by photocat, Aug 18, 2005.

1. photocat

photocat New Member

State:
    HOCO, Maryland
    I was wondering if anyone has tried one of these reels. they seem very similar in style to The abu garcia ambassador C3 series. They cost about 1/2 to 1/3 as much as the abus and well i'd like to save a little bit of money on my reels. Are they a worth while investment?

2. tanner

tanner New Member

State:
    Somerset, Kentucky
    i've never used these reels before but i'll be totally honest with you, i'd save the extra money and grab you and abu!

3. Nate

Nate New Member

State:
    OH - IO
    On the old board people had a very poor opinion of this reel. The most common complaint was the bait clicker. Apparently it's cheaply made and will stop working and you'll be stuck in freespool.

If you want a cheaper reel that has gotten good reviews, check out the Shakespeare Tidewater reels.

4. photocat

photocat New Member

State:
    HOCO, Maryland
    Hmmm Thank you for letting me know, i've been using Shakespeares SKp2000 the past year and 1/2 or so an i've been fairly happy w/ them but the clicker breaks on them and i keep looking at the abu's and i need to find a cheaper way to get them. thought maybe the Mega casts would be a good one but guess not. oh well better start saving my pennies

5. ohiohawghunter45067

ohiohawghunter45067 New Member

State:
    Trenton, Ohio
    these reels will suit u fine for fishing for channel cat maybe even small shovels.