bass or flat bottom

Discussion in 'Boating' started by viperdragon6662003, Jan 18, 2009.

1. viperdragon6662003

viperdragon6662003 New Member

State:
    IL
    Hi im kinda new to the hole boat seen but my grandpa has let me use is bass boat that past year and i love it. Im looking to buy a boat but would like to know how sallow of water a bass boat can go compared to a flat bottom. Also i would like to know what is easyer to handle on bigger rivers. Any answers will be thanked.

2. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA
    if your lookin to get into shallow water you'll want a flatbottom for sure, bass boats are mostly fiberglass and are bad news if ya hit shallow rocks, a good alluminum flatbottom with a jet prop would be great for runnin shallow water and rivers, that way you can bounce off more stuff:wink:

3. centexcop

centexcop New Member

State:
    Texas
    Jeremiah welcome to the BOC. If I were going to buy a boat, I would buy the biggest and widest flat bottom that I could afford. First of all, the larger the boat, the more room you have and I'm sure you're going to meet several friends on here that you want to take fishing with you. Secondly, the wider the boat, the more stable it's going to be on the water when you're moving around. A bigger boat will allow for mounting of a livewell. A bass boat is nice, but there's lots of wasted space for catfisherman. Sure, it's quick and pretty, but you need to factor in comfort for being anchored up for a long time, drifting down the river, or across the lake.

4. viperdragon6662003

State:
    IL