Barbless hooks?

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by veryama1975, Feb 12, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    I've never used barbless hooks before & I was wondering how much of a difference they make. What does everybody think about barbless hooks?

2. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    I dont like them and dont use them,makes it easier for your fish to get off.I sometimes use hooks with double barbs,like the wisker sticker hooks.

3. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Depends on how you fish, and in what state your in. Some states regulations require the use of a barbless hook for certain species of fish... as trout in some states. In Oklahoma, you must use a barbless hook if snagging for spoonbill catfish.

4. mrmarkedwards

mrmarkedwards Active Member

State:
    Delaware
    i always crush the barb on my hooks. i started it when i would get fish that swallowed the hook. barbless hooks are easier to get out and if i still can't get it i'll cut the leader. as far as fish getting off of them? 2 things first if you keep constant pressure on the fish it won't get off and second use hooks with an upturned eye. with these hooks the pressured exerted on the hooks makes it bite deeper.

5. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    Hey Mark,

When you say "use hooks with an upturned eye" do you mean "j" hooks or are you referring to circle hooks?

6. bud1110

bud1110 New Member

State:
    East Texas
    I bought some of the Barb-less treble hooks several Months back. My wife and I tried them out and found that you MUST keep pressure on the line, or the fish has a tendency to get off.