Barbless Hooks - Anyone use them

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by kspor, Feb 13, 2006.

1. kspor

kspor New Member

State:
    Wichita Kansas
    Anyone out there fish barbless. I have been doing it for nearly 15 years and wouldnt go back. I dont think I loose any more fish and find the hooks dont tear holes in softmouthed fish. Let me know what you think.

2. CatBusster

CatBusster New Member

State:
    Out Fishing
    I use barbed for the carp but crush the barb down to leave a little bump. I have heard that some barbless hooks do tear mouths but I think it depends on the pattern.

The barbless hooks surprisingly are more expensive than the barbed in the uk and a majority of fisheries have banned fishermen from using barbed hooks.

3. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    I dont use them myself,in fact i fish with the strike king wisker stickers alot and they have two barbs.They are a pain to get out but once there hooked there not comming off.I know some folks here take needle nose pliers and bend the barb down on there hooks or remove them all together,i think its more about persenol prefrence and what works for you but i myself like the barbs.

4. catnip

catnip New Member

State:
    texas
    when the fish are hitting hard and you want to unhook em fast to catch another, doesn't work if the are playing with the bait. catnip

5. JMarrs328

JMarrs328 New Member

State:
    York/Harrisburg, PA
    I tried using barbless, but i lost more fish than w/ the barbs. I find that w/ barbs i will rarely lose a fish from the hook pulling out, but w/ barbless I lost a few more.:sad:

6. Itch2Scratch

Itch2Scratch New Member

State:
    Ivy Bend on LOZ, Missouri
    I have not used barbless but I think the way a blue cat twists and rolls they would cause you to lose them.

7. Deltalover

Deltalover New Member

State:
    Tracy Calif
    In Calif, we have to use barbless for salmon fishing! I use them occasionaly for stripers and cats!