bank sinkers

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by LEROYDOZOIS, Nov 28, 2007.

1. LEROYDOZOIS

LEROYDOZOIS New Member

State:
    Arizona
    i was going to buy them cause their the cheapest lead i can find but i was kinda conserned when i throw it out if it will keep my mainline from passing throw it

i use the carolina rig so thats why im asking

like it will roll over and wind up my line :tounge_out:

2. bumper

bumper New Member

State:
    Georgia
    Just use a swivel bigger than the eye of the weight, or better yet, use a bead between your weight and swivel. This will keep your line from passing thru and will help protect your knot. Sometimes the weight will roll and twist up your line a little, but a good swivel will eliminate most of that. Hope this helps and good luck fishin'.

3. badkarma

badkarma New Member

State:
    Oxford,Miss
    I've been using bank sinkers for right at 45 years and I never had one roll up my line.

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Not enough to even consider using other types sinkers. Each type of sinker has a designed application. The bank sinker is a good all around sinker, except in strong currents.

5. Crucial

Crucial New Member

State:
    Virginia Beach VA
    Maybe I'm not understanding completely, but:

In a carolina rig, any bass fisherman will tell you that the bead is an important element in the rig. This would be more true when using heavy leads, including the bank sinker.

If you thread your line through the eye of the sinker, thread on a large bead right after the lead, then a swivel, then your leader/trace with the hook attached, you should be fine. This will keep the lead from sliding down onto your bait or damaging your line.