Bank fishing the Ohio River near Louisville

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by Kentucky_Cat_Hunter, Jul 31, 2006.

1. Kentucky_Cat_Hunter

Kentucky_Cat_Hunter New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Hey guys. I'm pretty new to the BOC, and this topic may have been covered several times but does anyone have any tips for some good bank fishing on the Ohio River near the Louisville area? I haven't river fished since I was a kid and I'm tired of the pay lakes. I don't have a boat, so I'm restricted to bank fishing. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky
    1rst let me welcome you to the BOC ,iv fished the ohio river from west port to cinci always from a boat sry not much help but looks like to me you should be able to fish any where along the shore at river front park or across the river at the falls or go down to docks where the restuants set under the bridges im sure someone on here has a better idea on this but welcome to the BOC anyway

3. Kentucky_Cat_Hunter

State:
    Kentucky
    Thanks for the welcome! When I was a kid I grew up near the power plant (LGE plant, I think it's called Millcreek but it's in Valley Station). People used to fish there off the bank. I haven't been over the flood wall there in probably 20 years, so I don't know the conditions over there. I have heard people talking about fishing from the bank at Greenwood boat docks, but didn't know if anyone knew of a better place. I really don't know much about fishing a river, so it will be a new experience for me. I have heard about people fishing in a boat at the Salt River mouth at the Ohio right there at West Point, KY but I doubt you could get down to the bank anywhere near there. I need a boat! :smile2:

4. catseeman

catseeman New Member

State:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    John welcome to the BOC. Sorry but I'm not familar with the river.

5. Kentucky_Cat_Hunter

State:
    Kentucky
    Thanks for the welcome Catseeman!