Balloon Lines for Catfishing

Discussion in 'Catfishing Library' started by Whistler, Sep 9, 2005.

1. Whistler

Whistler Well-Known Member

State:
    TN
    Original post made by Justin Cantrell(Justin) on October 2, 2003

One of my favorite ways to catch catfish is on a balloon line, but I often find alot of catfisherman who don't know what that is, so i'll explain it for them. A balloon line is best explained as a "Jug Line" attached to your fishing pole. Start with tying a large barrel swivel to the end of your main-line, but don't cut the tag end, let it hang down as the leader leaving the other ring of the swivel empty. Attach a balloon to the empty swivel ring, I like to use the tougher punching balloons that kids play with. Now tie a hook to the end of the hanging leader with a couple split shot above it to hold it down, I prefer a 4-5 foot leader! it should look something like the image below, which isn't the best picture but i'm no artist so sorry.
    [​IMG]