Baiting/attractant scents ect..

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by Scott Daw, Jul 12, 2006.

1. Scott Daw

Scott Daw New Member

State:
    Allentown, Pennsylvania
    The game commission recently approved the use of bait for deer in one of my hunting areas. since this is new to my state and I've never used it before. what do some of you all use? Ive been liking what I here about cmere deer on tv but im keeping an open mind. any advise?

2. catfishrus

catfishrus New Member

State:
    north carolina
    shell corn works the best here but make sure its this years cut and not some old crap thats been sitting in a bin since last year. if its real dusty in the bag dont buy it because someone in your hunting area will have the good stuff and you know where the deer will be. i made a mistake and bought a a ton of that old crap one year. the deer did eat in jan. and feb. when they had no choice. i dont know about that cmere deer thing.

3. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Name:
    your first name
    You might want to try some salt blocks too. Even after they are gone the deer will still come to the area and go after the dirt. Others like mineral blocks but I have never had any luck with them. There are some other blocks like apple that deer and turkey both love. I quit baiting years ago since it started costing too much.

4. field989

field989 New Member

State:
    east central indiana
    we can not do this but apples will work... and i have heard people using water softener salt and just dumping it at one place and get some water and water it down a bit... i heard they will come back to that and keep comming to that..... then every year just put a bit more salt in it.... even if the salt is dissolved it dont matter

Jeff

5. Bayoubear

Bayoubear New Member

State:
    near that hellhole dallas