Baitcasting Reel

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by catchinghogs, Feb 19, 2006.

1. catchinghogs

catchinghogs Well-Known Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    Some info if anyone can help I am looking to purchase a baitcasting reel this year and want to use it for catfishing but I also want to use it to flip big lures for muskie any suggestions. Thank you

2. elphaba7

elphaba7 New Member

State:
    Mo'town, WV
    I got my first baitcaster for V-Day. An Abu 5000, Griz told me it a great reel to learn on. My next one will be a Penn 310 GTI. Can't help you too much on the details, as I'm just learning myself, but I have been given a plethora of information and advice here.

PS, this reel is paired with a 7' Berkley Lightning Rod, and will be my primary cat rod until I get the Penn (with an 8' Ugly Stik). I will use the Abu for walleye fishing as well. I hope to have the Penn setup in time for our PA gathering.

3. T-Bone

T-Bone New Member

State:
    South of Dallas
    Do a search here on the board for abu 6500c3 , great reel and the price ain't bad either. Penn reels are very nice also.

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho