Baitcaster

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by JMarrs328, May 15, 2006.

1. JMarrs328

JMarrs328 New Member

State:
    York/Harrisburg, PA
    I've never used a big catfish baitcaster before. Is there a good model that I can get for not a lot of money? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

2. Tulcat

Tulcat New Member

I would suggest an Abu in the 6000 series, which you can find for the $50 to $70 range depending on new, used, and/or which particular model.

3. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    Shakespheare Tidewater, $40 or less at Wal-Mart and a great reel.

4. gatorbait

gatorbait New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Abu is definately the best for the money. I have one that works nearly as good as another reel that costs three times as much.

5. ohiohawghunter45067

ohiohawghunter45067 New Member

State:
    Trenton, Ohio
    hands down i would say if your on a budget and want a good baitcaster go with the 6000 it wont let you down.......

6. IL Hunter

IL Hunter New Member

State:
    Normal, IL
    If your a on a budget I'd check ebay for an abu 6000.

7. oldnndway

oldnndway New Member

State:
    Texas
    I like the Abu Garcia's

I took a red 5000 and a black 5000-c to the reel repair shop today.
    Thems good reels.

I've had both for years and since my reel repair man is getting a little long in the tooth I figured I'd get them put back "new" before he retires.

I figure I can get another 25 or 30 years out of em.

(I have gone through my reels before and they don't always do so good afterwards ... I'm better with big tools like sledge hammers)

8. HARVRAD2003

HARVRAD2003 New Member

State:
    ILLINOIS
    I would say the ambassadeur 6000 or for just a few more dollars the 6500 c3.

9. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho