Baitcaster drag problem

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Catfish_Scooter, Nov 19, 2009.

1. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I have a 5000 ambassadeur that reels in fine and casts like a bullet, but there's a problem I wanted to see if any of my fellow BOC family could help out with. I noticed here lately that it's not wanting to hold drag. I can loosen it all the way and then tighten it till it cant no more but still pulls drag the same amount, it never gets snug like it needs to.. :eek:oooh:

Could anyone tell me what to do?

2. mintaka

mintaka Well-Known Member

State:
    Charlotte , N.C
    I was having a problem with mine last week. It wouldnt cast further than a foot. I was about to take it to a shop , but took it apart and lubricated
    and cleaned it good. Put fresh line on , too. Now it works like a charm!! You may want to remove the drag control and related components , then operate the reel under force. Look for anything that may be out of place and broken parts when pulling line under drag. Good Luck!! If it's not under warranty , and the aforementioned doesn't work , try a tackle shop or write the company. Also , review the parts list if you have it.

3. Catfish_Scooter

State:
    Tennessee
    Thanks Mason. I will try and see if this will help.

4. FATDAD

FATDAD New Member

State:
    Mount Sterling,
    you may have oil on your drag washers. or they be wore out. replace all mine with smoothies love them. about 5bucks for the smoothies or 10 bucks for the carbontex washers:wink:

5. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
    yep a common problem with drags is oil take it apart wipe off the washers and put it back together and see if that fixes it

6. dano40

dano40 New Member

State:
    Spirit lake, Iowa
    If you are using braid it may be slipping on the spool and you will need to put mono on for backing to prevent the line from slipping on the spool.

7. catfishinsc