Bait Tank Filter

Discussion in 'Catfishing Library' started by Whistler, Sep 5, 2005.

1. Whistler

Whistler Well-Known Member

State:
    TN
    Original post made by Merle South(Slim) on December 9, 2003

As I was setting around Looking at my new bait tank setup I was thinking about filtration and how many guys are just at a loss when it comes down to how to keep your bait alive at home for long periods of time.
    I worked in the pet industry for years , a major pet store chain spent quite a bit of money teaching me how to keep fish alive and happy, I've even managed the aquatics department for a while.
    Anyway heres a simple filter design for the home bait tank ; First let's look at what kills fish. When fish "breath" they produce ammonia through their gills as well as when they defecate, ammonia is toxic to fish. Other things like rotting food and dead and decaying fish also produce toxins in your water. So what we need to do is get rid of the ammonia and filter out the chunks.
    When ammonia is present in the water, certain bacteria develop that turn ammonia into nitrites, which in turn decay into nitrates, which are not as toxic to your fish. What I have found is a simple wet--dry filtration system can keep your bait alive for as long as you keep them fed and meet their other environmental needs, ie temp and stress level. Now keep in mind that water flow is the key, water flow means a pump- you want the water to cycle roughly 4 times through your your entire tank an hour; for example, if your bait tank is 20gal, the pump should cycle 80gph(gallons per hour).