bait question

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by mark29860, May 25, 2008.

1. mark29860

mark29860 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Since I don't have a bait tank how well will it work to keep my shad and herring on ice I would think it would stay fresh but I am still pretty new at this and any info is appreciated. thanks

2. fishmccall

fishmccall New Member

State:
    Anderson sc
    Putting the herring on ice will work good, but you need to put them in a ziplock bag with some papertowel. The key is to keep them dry if you dont they will get soft and wont stay on your hook.

3. pop pop

pop pop New Member

State:
    Lake Green
    Mark, shad and herring on ice will be good for about 24 hours before they get to soft. Many of us catmen catch/buy our cut bait and put them in a bag on ice the day of and the day before our fishing trip:wink: You shouldn't have a problem with in that time frame:wink:.

4. MUDHOLE KID

MUDHOLE KID New Member

State:
    Anderson,S.C.
    One little thing I do extra is ,after I get them home, put the bait in a bucket of water and slosh them around just a second to get the rest of the scales and goo off them before I put them in the bag. I think the slime makes them deteriorate faster. Like the towel idea, it's just to keep down on the slime, goo effect.:wink:

5. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC
    I aggree with all of the above.The towels work good and I'm gonna try Joey's trick too.

6. bearfrog1

bearfrog1 New Member

State:
    Mount Pleasant,