Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
it all depends sometimes they love the eel sometimes they rather have shad. I usually throw out both to see which menu they want at the time. I never have had much luck using any store bought stuff except in a few ponds around the house. Lately eels have been doing the trick for me in the cape fear.

·
Registered
348 Posts
Your question depends upon what fish your targeting and where your fishing. If you want to get channel cats in a pond/lake chicken livers is the ticket. Eels will produce on the rivers either cut into chunks or live(whole). Cut shad is also working for the blues on the river. In my opinion Eels, shad, and brim are the best bait choices for big cats. I've never had luck with stinkbait. The bigger the bait (any type of fish) the bigger the catfish!

·
Registered
359 Posts
Well man I am no expert by any stretch but I almost always use eel cut/live on the CFR I have had limited sucsess catching shad around lock#2. When fishing with eel I very rarely go home with out having caught at least one decent fish.

I also have recently started having good luck with live/cut bream on the river.

I am with Pete as far as the stink bait goes, the only store bought stink bait that has ever produced jack is the Gulp! But it didn't bring me any fish larger than a couple pounds.

·
Registered
11 Posts
I tried ZOTE soap yesterday in a pond, and bream fished with 3 other rods. The first bite was on the soap, but I didnt catch it. Didnt get another bite on the soap.

That ZOTE, I would recommend just on ability to get on a hook and stay, easy to work with. It would probably do an excellent job on a trotline.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Has anyone ever heard of putting WD40 on chicken liver to catch channels. Besides from it not being a good thing to put in the water I have always heard lubricants, bugsprays and things of that nature repel fish.

·
Registered
225 Posts