Bait Making

Discussion in 'Homemade baits' started by shipchef, Jul 19, 2006.

1. shipchef

shipchef New Member

State:
    Texas
    I'm new to this site--lots to read!!! I'm a chef with a world missions organization based near Tyler. Fish a lot on Lake Palestine. In addition to cooking for people, I like trying new "recipes" for catfish bait. I see a lot about "rotten cheese." Where do you get it? How do you get it? Do you just get cheese and set it in the sun? My best so far was using the same stuff you'd use to make a Caesar Salad dressing--cheese, anchovies, garlic, then made it into a dough. I'm going on vacation in October and would like to try some new stuff. Any other advice on using cheese??
    thanks!!
    sc

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

the library has a lot of ideas as for what type of cheese I would recomend the following: sharp/mild cheddar, velvetta and blue. melt in the sun are microwave add you other ingredients and mix well set in the sun are heat covered and wait. check thickness to thick add veg. oil to thin add cat tails, cotton, corn meal and so on. Good luck.

3. jstall

jstall New Member

State:
    Gary Texas
    I tried something that seems to work. I tried it with Ivory soap first but had bad texture. I used that Zote soft and it worked better. I melted the soap and mixed it with blended shad, old lady loved that one. I used her blender.
    It caught fish. I also blended one with catalpa worms another one with bream. They all caught fish. With the Shad and Bream blend I could not add to much to the soap, it did not want to set up very well, to much liquid. The best workable texture was the Catalpa mixture.
    Joseph

4. shipchef

shipchef New Member

State:
    Texas