bait for jugs

Discussion in 'Alternative Methods of Catching Catfish' started by so ill catman, Jul 1, 2009.

1. so ill catman

so ill catman New Member

State:
    illinois
    im new to jugn and the few times i have went i have used some sort of cut bait on the jugs and had descent success. what else do people use as bait on jugs?

2. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    Live perch, shad, goldfish, bullheads and crawdads. Hotdogs soaked in garlic, cut shad, skipjack, frogs, liver just to name a few. I use about any bait I can get except dip bait on my jugs.
    Welcome to the BOC

3. willieb18

willieb18 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I've had my best luck with liver since we can't use game fish for cut bait on jugs in SC, and no live bait.

4. Shutupandfish

Shutupandfish New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I've had my best luck on hotdogs, liver and cutbait. Fishing all different depths. Let your hotdogs soak for a day or so, i find that vinigar and garlic will tuffen up the hotdogs as well.

5. Dave53

Dave53 New Member

State:
    Lonedell M
    I have run jugs for several years now and the best bait I have use is hot dogs. The cheapest ones you can find. I have soaked them in everything I can think of and right out of the pack seems to work just as well. I did notice I had better luck with the cheap ones than all beef or ones with cheeze in them. I like to set them out in the sun and let the oils begin to churn..they are harder to get off the hook to.

6. boswifedeb

boswifedeb USCA Jailhouse Lawyer

State:
    Tennessee
    Name:
    Debbie
    Welcome to the BOC !!!!:big_smile:

7. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Shad heads, bluegill heads and 2 inch chunks of cut carp with skin.

8. Poppa

Poppa New Member

State:
    Pinson, Al
    You have got some great bait suggestions, The only thing I have not seen
    mentioned is shrimp and large live chubs if live bait is legal in your area.