bait fish

Discussion in 'ARIZONA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by joe long, Jul 15, 2009.

1. joe long

joe long New Member

State:
    arizona
    i am new to flathead fishing and i am wondering how you go about catching the bait fish i.e. carp and blue gills??? im going out to bartlet this weekend and need some bait so if you could help me out it would be great. thanks!!!!!

2. dsfrye1

dsfrye1 New Member

State:
    Arizona
    I was just at Bartlett last weekend. All i did was use a really small hook, no weight, and 1/4 of a meal worm. Threw it out by some rocks and under overhanging trees in the shallow areas at bartlett flats. They were all pretty small. Hopefully you get some bigger gills than me.

3. joe long

joe long New Member

State:
    arizona
    ok thats kinda what i thought but thanks for your help. did you do any good at bartlet?? any flattys

4. Zonaman

Zonaman New Member

State:
    Florida
    I do the same hook & line bit but I've also had some luck setting mesh traps. Check the AZGF for the regs on that.

Attached Files:

5. dsfrye1

dsfrye1 New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Joe Long see my Bartlett Newbie post for my catch

6. Overkil

Overkil New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Gerry...how long does it take for the bluegill (or other bait) to find the trap? How deep have you been setting it? Looks interesting...

7. cat-tracker

cat-tracker New Member

State:
    arizona
    Hey Gerry, where do you get a mesh trap like that? Could come handle when I'm fishing all night for flatties, I can sleep all day and still catch baitfish!!:big_smile:

8. Zonaman

Zonaman New Member

State:
    Florida