Bait ethics and morality?

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by coble9, Oct 8, 2007.

1. coble9

coble9 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Ok, here it goes. I was raised that the only fair way to hunt was bow and without baiting and scentlock. I have no problems with scent killer and doe in heat. I am trying to make up my mind on whats fair and what's cheating. I would appreciate your opinions on the subject of baiting.

Is natural bait fair; acorns and apples?
    Is a salt lick fair?
    Is corn fair?
    Are scented man made deer lure gells fair?
    I am not going to go as far as a feeder, because if I was going to feed them I'd just get a cow.

I got my first deer last year, so I am new to actually getting out and hunting deer. We have a one deer limit here, but they added an anterless tag during early archery, so I have two tags. I am looking for meat in the freezer more than trophy's, but if I get a big buck I want to have a clear conscience about it. The doe doesn't matter as much - just meat.

2. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Name:
    your first name
    Im wondering if you use a "real" bow or one of those bows with training wheels like I use? Fair and cheating is all up to the individual, imho. As far as being the "fairest" hunter Id say you need to make your own bow and arrows, make your own clothes, sleep in a shelter you made and no vehicles to get to your place either. :wink: I could come up with a few more things but I think you get the picture. I guess it just depends on how fair you want to make it. I hunt with a rifle, muzzleloader and a bow with training wheels. Eventually I want to make my own bow and hunt with that. When Im after a particular buck Ill take him with whatever I can. As far as whats cheating thats something you'll have to decide.

3. tufffish

tufffish New Member

State:
    Texas