Bait catching

Discussion in 'LOCAL ALABAMA TALK' started by Alabama Al, Jun 4, 2007.

1. Alabama Al

Alabama Al New Member

State:
    Alabama, Mobile Delta
    Good morning folks
    I am a newbie and at this stage my next problem is to catch bait when I need to. I fish the delta at Mobile. I am not very good at throwing a cast net. But most of the time when I get a good spread and hit the school of shad, I get nothing. I tried a Sabiki rig last night and got no hits.
    My question is,,, will shad hit a Sabiki rig??? Am I wasting my time trying?
    Does anyone have any helpful hints on using a cast net??

Thanks for your help.
    Alabama Al
    :confuse:

2. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    What size cast net are you using? I use a 5' radius net, and I don't think that you can be very successful with one much smaller than that. Only two things I know of that might help you: a larger net, or a net with more weight per foot. Nets with more weight than usual may have to be ordered, cost more, and sink faster than regular weights.

3. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Welcome to the BOC. I guarantee shad and skipjack will hit a sabiki rig.
    I use them all the time here in Alton, Illinois. If you are not catching any it is because they are not there. Good luck. If you cast a sabiki and the bait fish are there, they will hit it.

4. willyray07

willyray07 New Member

State:
    alabama