Bait caster Help

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by young catfisherman, Jun 22, 2006.

1. young catfisherman

young catfisherman New Member

State:
    ohio
    hey guys,
    need some help! this year i have really started getting into catfishing, and i have been useing my money for just fishing tackle, i have a ambasider fishing reel it is a bait caster. I just got it for 70.00$ it was on sale so had to get it, but i am not casting right because i keep geting tangles, what am i doing wrong is my thum to loose, if so how tight should i have it.
    THANKS please help

2. IL Hunter

IL Hunter New Member

State:
    Normal, IL
    You need to get the brake set right. Read the manual. You'll want your lure to fall slowly and not drop like a rock. You need to use your thumb to stop the reel before it hits the water. Thats called backlash and you get a birdsnest from that. They are never fun. If you can try a practice plug in your back yard. Baitcasters are great but nobody figures them out right away. I'm sure more tips will follow mine.

Welcome to the BOC

3. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
  4. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
    mines like a one not for lures but for like boats drop downs and stuff like catfishin.

5. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
    it came right of the show case i will have to take it back no manule!

6. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
  7. Itch2Scratch

Itch2Scratch New Member

State:
    Ivy Bend on LOZ, Missouri
    What is the model number of your reel?

8. bmaultbay

bmaultbay New Member

State:
    Clarksville, Tennessee