Badin 5/27

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Rookie12, May 28, 2006.

1. Rookie12

Rookie12 New Member

State:
    Kannapolis, NC
    Wow, was the fishing off today or what? I fished from 4:00 until midnight and caught one white bas about 2 lb. tired for flats up by the dam, down the lake and then went and drifted down form Old Whitney. got a couple hits drifting, but none in the boat. I was using a 4/0 #42 Eagle Claw hook for drifting. I'm wondering if a circle hook would be better. I've never done it before so I'm learnin'. I like that I can conver a lot of water while drifting. I just got to learn the technique a little better. Seemed like most of the fish that I marked were in around 30' to 40' deep. Had several hits, but couldn't stick the fish. Has anybody else had this problem. I only drifted for about an hour and a half. I think I had about 5 hits that I knew of. Kind of hard to tell with the rods bouncing all the time. I'm going back Tues. morning to try it some more. Any help appreciated.

2. Dragger

Dragger New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Chris, 95% of the fishing that i do is driftfishing, To me the only hook to use is the Gamakatsu-Octopus-Circle hook ,from 4/0-thru-8/0, and they work real well for my type fishing, They work best if you snell them. if your rods have a little bounce in them while drifting,their working, we call it (their hunting.)for bait we use fresh bream,shad,mullet,herron,and white perch. good luck and i hope this helps.
    we are planing a trip down there in a few weeks. hope we can find some long areas to drift........

3. CMJ

CMJ Guest

Hey Chris, He is right about the rods bouncing, you know that they are on the bottom. As far as hits, a good cat will load up that rod just like when you are achored. As far as hooks, I think that they are plenty of good ones. I like the 5/0 kahle hooks. see ya

4. catfishrus

catfishrus New Member

State:
    north carolina