Bad first time.

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by Colsrob, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Colsrob

Colsrob Active Member

State:
    Ohio, Columbus
    Ok, here's the deal. I went to the Ohio last night. In getting ready for the trip, I went and bought a cast net. It is my first time ever with a cast net. It didn't take me long to figure out how to throw it decent enough, but that was the least of my problems.

Now, I am not asking for anyone to expose their honey hole, but I sure could use some insight on where to find baitfish. I would just like to know what kind of areas are better suited for them. I tried about 6-7 different spots and all I could muster was 1 shad, about the size of a big sardine.

Needless to say, it sure made things a lot worse, without any real bait to use. The trip was not fruitless, I did catch 7-8 fish. The sizes were respectable as well, although there were no trophy, or anything close to that. Mainly the 5-7lb range. A couple of Flats and the rest were Channels.

I managed to cath 1 sunfish, after going to town for worms, to go with that sorry excuse for a shad. I really think I would have done very well, if I only had enough good bait.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. stangcrazy85

stangcrazy85 New Member

State:
    PerryTucky
    locks try cat netting in the locks sometimes fish get trapped in there

3. Colsrob

Colsrob Active Member

State:
    Ohio, Columbus
    That's a good idea as well. Thank you.

I told you I have no experience at cast netting. :) It should be obvious by now.

I forgot to put this in my original post: I ran out of bait, so I broke out the box of Wheaties. I use Coke in mine, and sometimes add a splash of vanilla, which I did last night. I thought I might be able to catch a carp and use him for bait. Instead, I caught 1 of the 7lb Channels on it. :) Desperate times............

4. outdoors1988

outdoors1988 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma