Baaaad weekend to fish? or am i doing something wrong?

Discussion in 'OHIO LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by ohiocattin15, Aug 3, 2009.

1. ohiocattin15

ohiocattin15 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Fished the indian lake tournament this past weekend. since there were like 800 entries i knew i wouldnt get in the money (not really that it matters i just like to catch fish) i fished all three days and caught one fish. a 2 pound channel when i was anchored off an island. i tried drifting and i anchored on structure alot. What do you guys think i should do...buy a depthfinder and learn how to read it? or anything because i know i could have caught more fish. i am just frustrated because im new to fishing out of a boat and i need help guys.

2. ohio hilljack

ohio hilljack New Member

State:
    ohio
    Well I'm not by any means a professional fisherman,but if you just started the most important thing is just keep fishing. The biggest thing is to develop water on the brain till you think like a fish. :smile2: As you fish more and more you will start to see patterns in fish habits that are determined by weather ,light, spawning and time of year. People will tell you stuff that will help you but all in all the things that you experience will stick with you the longest. Most of the learning experiences will seem so simple that you will be amazed that you never thought of it before , others will just amaze you that it matters to the fish,but it does. In your defense I did hear from several people that the fishing at Indian Lake was extremely rough this weekend. My fishing was also terrible until I changed from deeper water to fishing the shallows, then it improved considerably.. The water temps have reeked havoc on my success for about a month...

3. Catmanblues

Catmanblues New Member

State:
    S.E Ohio